A couple of days ago I received an unexpected message from someone in my Yahoo Messenger address book. They told me I should go to a URL and look at a Geocities site. I was there as the message was posted, and saw the person log in, the message appear and the person log out immediately.
Foolishly (it was early in the morning, and I have man-flu) I went to the site, and discovered what seemed to be a genuine Yahoo page telling me the site was down.
That should have been an end of it. But then I got a message this morning from someone else in Yahoo which was something like *scratches head*. That gave me a clue that something was up. I sent out a warning to everybody in my address book, and apart from giving me the opportunity of having six simultaneous conversations, this also demonstrated that the message had just gone out to these people under my name.
I have done a virus scan and a Spybot check, which have found nothing untoward, apart from a couple of files flagged as ‘suspicious’ in my email attachments.
What I find interesting is that I could only have been infected in one of two ways. (a) Either the web site, which seemed to be a genuine Yahoo 404 page, unloaded some malevolent coding onto my computer, or (b) Just by reading the Yahoo message I was infected.
Both of those alternatives are rather disturbing. Had the virus been a destructive one, I could now be looking at the wreck of my computer.Â
One hopes that Yahoo get their collective fingers out, very quickly indeed, and sort this problem out. Much as I would hate to lose Yahoo Messenger, it would be foolish to use it if it were not safe. And that seems to be the case at the moment.
Oh yes, the site in question is:Â
h ttp://w ww.geocities.com/one_n_only_becky69/
 Avoid it. Â